DPF has two peace awards: The Will Wittkamper Peace Award, given for a lifetime of commitment to peace and justice and the Todd Robert Bratkovich Award, given to a young person or group. Each is awarded at the General Assembly.


WILL WITTKAMPER PEACE AWARDThe Will Wittkamper Award is given by the Disciples Peace Fellowship (DPF) in recognition of a lifetime commitment to peace and justice. The award, given every two years since 1981, is named for Will Wittkamper, a Disciples pastor who was active in the struggle for racial equality in the mid-twentieth century in the United States. Rev. Wittkamper was a strong supporter of Clarence Jordan at the interracial community Koinonia Farms in Americus, Georgia.

1981 Harold Edward Fey

1983 Rosa Page Welsh

1985 Joseph Boone Hunter

1987 Barton Hunter

1989 Elizabeth (Nellie) Kratz

1991 Parker Frank Wilson

1993 Vera G. and A.C. Cuppy

1995 Thomas Jackson (TJ) Liggett

1997 A. Garnett Day

1999 Dorothy Hunter

2001 Lois and Rhodes Thompson

2003 Robert L. and Adelle E. Lemon

2005 Lucas Torres

2007 Russ and Barbara Fuller

2009 Ian McCrae

2011 Pablo Stone

2013 Carol Q Cosby 

 2015 Kenneth Kennon

TODD ROBERT BRATKOVICH AWARDEstablished in 2001, the Bratkovich Award is given to a young member or members of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) whose efforts, like those of Todd, have been characterized by early actions for peace and justice. The award honors Todd Bratkovich of Edmond, Oklahoma whose passion for peace defined his short life. Todd was a compassionate young man: he was a dreamer but didn’t wait until he was “grown up” to start living out his dreams. A small stipend encourages ongoing peacemaking.

2003 Isaac R. Graves, Albany, New York

2005 New Covenant Christian Church Youth Group, Houston, Texas

2007 All Peoples Christian Center, Los Angeles, California

2009 Krista Johnson, Indianapolis, Indiana

2013 Youth Empowered to Serve, Journey of Faith Christian Church, Ann Arbor, MI

2015 Chrissy Stonebraker-Martinez 

Peace Awards